What’s for dinner?

Ah, that time-tested question that has been the subject of countless households and the subject of a memorable series of 90s-era TV commercials (“Beef. It’s What’s For Dinner!“) in a wildly successful (88 percent of Americans recognize the phrase!) ad campaign by The Beef Industry Council and The Beef Board.

Ah, I love the 90s.

For me, tonight, it all depends on whether I make it myself out of what ingredients I have on hand (potatoes, onions, frozen and canned beans, tofu sausage, bok choy, oranges, pasta, rice), or my mom brings home leftovers from her frequent splurges at Whole Foods. After being prompted by Ree, aka The Pioneer Woman, today, though, if I could have my dream dinner tonight, no mess, no fuss, it’d be this:

Bite-sized mac and cheese tarts, homemade veggie pot pie,
sauteed collard greens and carrots, strawberry-lavender sorbet.

 

Courtesy of JL, a contributor at AllRecipes.com.

Mmm!

Other nights, the imaginary menu skews hotter, spicier, soupier, or more ethnic (or fusion ethnic… here’s a trove of recipes for more). But tonight, I’m just in the mood for cute, savory, bright comfort food.

How about you, dear reader?

If you could have anything for dinner tonight, what would it be?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

